Welcome to my Travel Journal

Layout Inspired by TeppysLayouts

I figured it made sense to lay it out by month since my "vacation" lasted from January until June. Wow. When you get as old as I am you don't expect six months to pass by so slowly.


Image credit: stockphoto Image description: a hoard of red bats flying at night. End description.


January

In January, near the end of the month, I left home and headed for Switzerland. I watched "Renfield" on the plane. You know, the new Nicholas Cage movie. Anyway. Why Switzerland? Why not? There was a cheap flight, plus I speak French well enough. Unfortunately I arrived in Zurich, which is in the German speaking part of the country. Scheiße. I had a terrible time in the Zurich airport largely because I was extremely stressed for obvious reasons. I knew my hunter was after me so I booked the next flight I could get on, which happend to be going to Rotterdam in The Netherlands. I only spent three nights in Rotterdam but those three nights were pretty okay. I ate some raw fish, which I think might be something they only do to prank tourists, and I drank a TON of stoner blood to calm down. Don't worry, I didn't kill anyone. I bit a couple of guys on the arms in the back of some dingy coffee shop. They're surprisingly chill about that in Europe. I saw those big yellow cube houses,and I saw the swan-bridge so I can't really complain. I even got stuck out in the morning light once and took shelter under the Euromaast. I departed on January 31st from the central station by train.

Image credit: ME. Image description: photographs of Rotterdam at night through the window of a plane, the euromaast, and a street at night. End description.

February

On February 1st, I woke up in France. I stayed there only a night before moving on up towards Luxembourg. I'll admit, I thought about going to Arson's at this point but I did not want to draw my hunter to him. I kept moving. From Luxembourg I took a train to Germany. I was in Germany when I intercepted the letter from my hunter. I posted it in an internet cafe there. Did you know they still had those? I didn't. I realized the hunter was still on my tail so I made some quick preparations before I moved on to Austria, by a combination of bus, train, and carriage. I wish I had had time to sightsee in Austria, I really do, but I did not. I saw some mountains; I did not take pictures of them because I was on them. In a horse-drawn carriage to be exact. The horse's name was Bela. I thought that was funny. Next I traveled through to Italy.

March

I stayed in Italy for a while. I went as far as Rome. I spent a fucking terrible week in the Catholic capital of the world hoping that my hunter would lose me there and it worked for a bit. I hadn't been to Rome in ages and it has changed so much in the last 600 years. Last time I was there it was a proper city but it really is a tourist cesspool now. I saw so many nuns. What are nuns doing out after midnight? Go home girl, sleep. Jesus wants you to sleep so you can be well rested for church tomorrow. But after spending half the month on the lam, finally I flew to Romania. That's when I hunkered down in Dracula's castle. He kept me safe there for several weeks. Dracula, and by that I mean his two new familiars, took good care of me. I was kept in the best supply of blood I had had since December and I was able to brush my teeth. (Vampires cannot brush their fangs in airport bathrooms. It is a real pain.) I spent most of the month there and by April 1st I was ready to move on.

Image credit: ME. Image description: Rome at night. End description.

April

I decided I was done running. In April, I flew from Romania to England. This plane did not have a movie. I got a hotel in London and I stayed there for a couple of weeks. I had hoped the hunter would come to me but he stayed scarce. I knew he was still on me for reasons I'll get into later on, but for some reason he wasn't as close as he had been. As I mentioned before, I had stayed away from Arson on purpose for fear of putting him in harm's way. Arson came to me, though, two weeks into my stay in merry old England. I was nervous, I'll admit, but having a friend to watch my back was a welcome feeling. We left London together a few nights later and hung around the island to see if we could sniff out my hunter friend ourselves. We had no luck. We had a lot of fun in Great Britain, though, I'll admit. The pubs there are good and the people there are feisty.

May

During the month of may we returned to continental Europe. We traveled by train and by car from France, through Belgium, and back into The Netherlands. I regret that I still had no time for sightseeing, as I was constantly trying to make arrangements for the next place we would end up. We did not spend more than one night in each town. It was a long month. We ended up back in Switzerland.

June

Arson and I left Switzerland together at the end of May. We actually flew into Iceland, which was fun. The plane there DID have movies and I watched "Lost Boys." I did not go home straightaway. I'm about to get very vague with you. Arson and I landed in a country three countries south of my home on June 1st, and we made our way up by car, by bus, and by bat. You know, by turning into bats when we got close. It was a nice little road trip compared to what I had undergone in Europe.

Image credit: ME. Image description: Rome at night. End description.



Now, back to the main page.